Contact Us Site Map Directions Join our Mailing List
Washington Technology Center Funding & Services Microfabrication Lab Industries Initiative News Forum
News Forum

WTC releases 2008 annual report

2008 Annual ReportIn honor of Washington Technology Center's 25th anniversary, we're happy to report that our work continues to spur the next generation of technology advancements.

Download the 2008 Annual Report to read details of our programs and activities.

Below are a few of Washington Technology Center’s highlights for fiscal year 2008.

- more in full post -- continued below -
  • Awarded more than $1 million in R&D funding to companies throughout Washington.

  • Reported a $17 leverage on each $1 of the state’s investment through Washington Technology Center. Companies generated $50 million in additional investment as a result of our assistance.

  • Supported our Angel Network groups as they invested $3 million in emerging companies.

  • Continued our focus on nanotechnology research to further ready our state for commercial opportunities in nanotechnology.

  • Secured additional federal funding with the assistance of Representative Brian Baird in support of our semiconductor user facility efforts in partnership with WSU Vancouver.

  • Hosted the Washington State Technology Summit and co-hosted the Micro Nano Breakthrough Conference which together attracted more than 700 business, science and economic development leaders.
Want to receive a printed copy of the 2008 Annual Report?

Please send an email to with the subject line 2008 Annual Report and your full mailing information in the body of the email.

- end of post -


>> Start a discussion on this topic
Washington Technology Center Announces Board Appointments

Governor Chris Gregoire has appointed Matthew O'Donnell of the University of Washington and Mike Schwenk of Pacific Northwest National Laboratory to the Board of Directors for Washington Technology Center. The Governor has also reappointed 12 WTC Directors.

- more in full post -- continued below -

Matthew O'Donnell has been appointed to a term effective August 2008 and ending June 2011. O'Donnell is the Frank & Julie Jungers Dean of Engineering for the College of Engineering at the University of Washington. O'Donnell holds 50 patents and has authored or co-authored more than 200 publications. He is associate editor of the journal Ultrasonic Imaging, is a permanent member of the National Institutes of Health Imaging Study Section, a fellow of both IEEE and AIMBE, and a member of Sigma Xi, and the American Physical Society.

Mike Schwenk has been appointed to a term effective August 2008 and ending June 2011. Schwenk is vice president and director of Technology Deployment and Outreach at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory operated by Battelle. Schwenk has thirty years of technical and business management experience in government, non-profit and corporate settings. For the past 10 years, he's championed numerous efforts that moved research out of the science laboratory and into the business community. In 2008, Schwenk was named Tri-Citian of the Year, for his longtime commitment to the Tri-Cities.

Governor Gregoire reappointed the following WTC Directors:

  • Michael Bisesi, Director, Center for Nonprofit & Social Enterprise Management, Seattle University
  • Ralph Cavalieri, Associate Dean for Research College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Science, Washington State University
  • Jon K. Clemens, Immediate Past Chair, Washington Technology Center Board of Directors; Consultant, Sharp Laboratories of America
  • Michael Cockrill, Managing Partner, Atlas Accelerator
  • Hal Dengerink, Vice Chair, Washington Technology Center Board of Directors; Chancellor, Washington State University
  • Dennis Dyck, Vice Chancellor of Research, Washington State University
  • Jon Eliassen, Managing Director, Terrapin Capital Group LLC
  • Roger Gulrajani, Director, Smart Personal Objects Technology Group, Microsoft
  • Robin Halliday, Chair, Washington Technology Center Board of Directors; Board of Directors, DIS Corporation
  • Paul Hutton, President, Thought Engineering
  • Johannes Koch, Independent Consultant
  • Arlan Norman, Dean, College of Sciences & Technology, Western Washington University

A complete list of board members and a link to their biographies can be found online at

Washington Technology Center's Board of Directors is comprised of business and academic leaders who serve as the governing arm of the state-charted agency, which promotes technology and innovation-based economic development throughout Washington.

- end of post -


>> Start a discussion on this topic